Just sipping coffee at NYC’s Best Pizzeria

Last March, I was en route to Boston with my school Certamen team (Latin quizbowl) for a tournament at Harvard, when we stopped at a pizzeria across from Penn Station that Magistra exuberantly proclaimed the city’s best. While we took up a chunk of the restaurant’s seating clutching our food on the chilly day, I saw this man peacefully reading his newspaper and drinking coffee. He was there when we came in and remained after we left.

Here is the first sketch I made of him. It’s incredible how well I can remember his face, just because of the fact that I spent time drawing him.

Later, while I was thinking of images to use for my AP Studio art portfolio, I decided to play around with this sketch a little bit. I cut it out and pasted it onto an old Calvin and Hobbes cartoon strip, adding in some life using colored markers and dry watercolors. The result:

One thought on “Just sipping coffee at NYC’s Best Pizzeria

Leave a Reply

