Areopagus Hill

I spent spring break in Athens and Crete as part of my Venetian history seminar. During my time in Athens, I tried to watch the sun rise and set from the Areopagus Hill at the base of the Acropolis as often as I could. On my last day in Athens, a Saturday when the flea markets and streets below were almost unnerving busy, I started to draw the view. People from dozens of countries, speaking dozens of languages milled about. We were courted by a few Roma children with roses as the sun began to set.

This was one of the most peaceful moments of the trip. I stopped when we had to return to the hotel  for our meeting with poet A.A. Stallings and our farewell dinner with the benefactors of the trip, but always planned to leave the drawing slightly incomplete.

areopagus

One thought on “Areopagus Hill

Leave a Reply

